Aruba vacation and travel information on Aruba hotels, beaches, restaurants and so much more

Go Back   Aruba Forums at Visit Aruba > Aruba Q & A > Aruba in General

Aruba in General All general questions about Aruba.

Old Thursday, March 23rd, 2006, 05:02 PM

jakesophie is on a distinguished road
Cool Moving to Aruba - lots of questions

My wife and I are moving to Aruba next year when the house we are having built there is complete. While we're definitely excited, we have lots of questions. Any help/advice on any of the below is much appreciated.

1. Working there - my wife is a college professor and I am an mgmt/IT consultant. We are are both happy to apply these skills there or if there is no practical need then we're happy doing something different. What are the rules about working there? i.e. who needs to approve employability and what is the process? Alternatively, is there any restriction to living there and working virtually back in the states or elsewhere?

2. Residency - should we try to be residents or not? What are the advantages/disadvantages? If we want to become residents - how do we do that? I understand one option is to maintain some amount ($50K) in an Aruban bank. True? If we don't become residents then what is the 90 day rule? Does it matter that we would be homeowners?

3. Taxes - I heard that residents pay up to 42% tax on income earned anywhere in the world. Is this true and does that include capital gains and dividends or just payroll income? Also, are non-residents taxed too?

4. Shipping - are there 1 or 2 primary shippers that service U.S. to Aruba moves? If so, who are they? Also, what shipping advice does anyone have? Does the process go more smoothly by using an "intermediary" to financially encorage officials to expedite the process - or is this not necessary as long as we aren't in any major hurry?